top of page

5 essentials to buy before school begins

August always seems to fly by and now we’re in the early days of September. We’ve spent a year and a half online learning and it’s finally time to return to the classrooms. If you’re like me, you may have completely forgotten how to prepare for school, so here’s a handy list of what to buy before school begins!


1. NOTEPADS

This sounds very simple but such an important part of revision/note taking. You can get whichever type suits your needs. I like to have one that’s the ring style, and I buy a multipack so it’s cost effective (because uni is already expensive enough). This style is good because I can write notes from lectures and keep it all in one place, but I can tear sheets out if need be. It’s also a hardback style so I’ve got something there to lean on, which is practical for studying anywhere a la the average uni student.


The notepad (pack) I’ve used this year, very good!

2. DESK LAMP

This is a bit of an unusual one but one I am in dire need of. Like most students, I study in my room, so my desk needs to be equipped accordingly. I have a white lamp that I have used for years but is dying slowly and not as bright as it used to be. There is a variety out there, so for me, I prioritise what is most important in the product for me. As my desk is in a dark part of the room, brightness is a must so I can see clearly and work at night. I would choose this over something like seven colours of light for example, but everyone has different needs for the products. Think about why you need the product and weigh it up with your budget. Another thing to consider is the charge; some have batteries and some have a cable plug in. The batteries can be expensive to replace, so bear that in mind. I will most likely search Amazon for a suitable replacement.


My trusty lamp for the last few years

It has a colour setting at the bottom so alternates between six colours.

3. BAG

Everyone needs a bag for their school stuff. The question is what type of bag. I tend to hold a lot of stuff in my bag, with textbooks and then things for events I have after uni. You should look at what you realistically put in your bag and then assess the best type for you. For example, I would regularly take a notepad that is A4 size, so any bag smaller than that wouldn’t work. Personal preference plays a role too, whether you prefer a backpack, tote bag, handbag or messenger bag. It can depend on the day, especially with college and uni, as if you have only one lecture, you can take a smaller bag depending on your schedule. For a bag, I usually check Sports Direct, JD, Argos or Amazon for a sturdy and reliable backpack. I do prefer to have one that has lots of compartments.


A colourful bag I saw in Adidas. Love the vibrancy and side pockets!

4. SHOES

To be honest, after high school, I haven’t given this much thought. You can wear any shoes to college/uni! Again, this depends on your situation: do you commute to college/uni? I would recommend a pair of comfy trainers. Trainers will see you through the day and a neutral colour will go with most outfits. You can buy a pair specifically for uni and wear them for that purpose. Trainers are versatile, but that doesn’t mean you can’t try other options too. I like to wear ankle boots in the autumn with jumpers. Just make sure the shoes you are wearing will be comfortable for long periods of time, whether that’s studying in the library or standing on the bus.



My old Vans, had to give them to charity a few months ago 🥲

5. STUDENT PLANNER

Probably the one that saves my life every year, a planner. I have a diary for my day-to-day activities but I always get a planner for the academic year. I copied this habit from high school, as I found it really helped me to plan myself and keep things in one place. A good academic planner for me needs plenty of space to write for each day, as well as added bonuses like revision guidance and uni tips. Especially for my extracurricular activities, it’s good to see when I have planned meetings and events so I don’t double book.


My planner for the last year. Didn’t use it as much as planned since it was all online learning 😭

WHERE TO LOOK

My favourite places to look are Amazon and Paperchase. I love Paperchase, their stationery is so cute and they have everything you could possibly need. Amazon is good for variety and price too. If you’re looking for something affordable, I’d recommend Wilko and places like Sainsbury’s and Tesco. They have really stepped up their stationery game and do have notepads and pens at decent prices! I also have it on good authority that Wilko do very nice ring binders, so it may be good to check them out before the school year begins.

That’s my basic list. Is there anything I missed? Let me know your recommendations for these products and where is best to buy!



*Note: for an environmentally friendly alternative, you could try shopping second-hand in charity shops and online apps. Morrisons have environmentally friendly notepads too!


*Not an ad, I am not advertising any of these brands as part of a paid partnership or deal. All the suggestions are ones that are genuinely used by the author.










תגובות


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page