top of page

Comeback to Blogging

It's been a while since I've blogged - what's been going on??


So dear readers, I'm back after 4 months. I didn't intentionally decide to stop blogging but life got in the way. From exams to fasting to sorting out my life in general, it's been very hectic and hard to make time for blogging.


Blogging for me came about because I wanted to share my opinions on matters of politics, youth policies, food, fashion, and so much more. But after taking time out, it felt hard to come back. What if no one was interested anymore? What if I'd lost the ability to blog like I used to? What if I was writing into a void of nothingness?


The age of social media and marketing as a tool is clever for the average person to see how they are performing. I, like every person, am guilty of seeing how many views a reel gets, or a blog. These statistics help inform what content I want to share, or whether I even want to share content. When content doesn't get a good reception, you can feel dismayed - what's the point in investing time and effort into crafting pieces of work and videos if people aren't interested?


I did what any Gen Z individual would do and turned to the internet for advice on returning to blogging. Most blogs told me to get it over with, explain how you are and what's been going on.


I didn't know what was "right" to share for a comeback, but I know that the reason I set out to start blogging and running my social media pages was to present the topics and work I am passionate about. Even if my blog or reel gets 0 views, it doesn't lose value. Its value is held in showcasing what I can create and who I am. We get so caught up in having to attain certain numbers, and whilst they do indicate a level of achievement, relying on this is what reinforces the hold social media and the internet has on us.


Sharing things on such public platforms is hard to maintain - but as I experience more, I realise that I can curate my own presence how I wish. I may get more views if I blog or create reels on certain topics, but focusing on numbers and likes and comments can suck the fun out of it all, stripping away the real reason this all started. That's why I started doing things like my dance cover reels, because it's something I genuinely enjoy and want to share.


So, ramble over. I'm back to blogging and hope you'll all come with me on the journey as I've got many exciting things planned. Or not. After all, my value can't rest on the laurels of a few internet strangers.


Comentarios


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page