top of page

I am not ok

Update on BYC situation


Many people after the blogs I have posted have reached out to offer their support and help if they can.


Everyone has asked how I am doing and if I am ok.


The usual response is always not too bad, alright, as well as can be with what’s happening.


The truth is, it’s hard to be ok. This situation, how it has affected me - it’s not just something that disappears overnight or is resolved with an email.


To experience this level of treatment and walk out the same would be unrealistic. Of course it hurts. Of course I have a million questions. Of course I’m tired and angry and disappointed at how things have played out.


The update? BYC and I are due to meet next week. They said that it HAS to happen in order for there to be any further inquiry, despite the dozens of emails I’ve sent detailing my experience.


They gave me the choice to walk away. They said that I can leave it as it is and move on,  or meet with them and explain things if we want a resolution or explanation of some kind.


And I was SO tempted. Because I’m tired of having to go through this and have it take up mental space when they took steps to create this unwarranted situation.


But reading everyone’s experiences who reached out emboldened me. It isn’t just about me but about every single young person who has been pushed out of organisations for no apparent reason.


The decisions we make today influence the people we are tomorrow. I may be tired but nothing worth fighting for has ever been easy.


There are times to stand up and do whatever is in your power for those who don’t have that same privilege.


So this is me. Using my power. I’ll meet with BYC. Even if their decision brings no change or benefit, I know I will have done everything possible to raise this issue within youth organisations.


I have to do what I can to protect myself and other young people.


Yorumlar


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page