top of page

Radio Interview!

For those of you checking my Instagram periodically (well done), you'll know that I was invited onto BBC Radio 5 Live twice last week!


I have done radio before so this was not a shock, but this time it was national and I felt that very keenly. On Friday 1st March, I was invited to speak about the Rochdale by-election and George Galloway's appointment to the House of Commons. I discussed the Gaza ceasefire as well as youth perspectives on politics. Prime Minister Rishi Sunak was due to speak 15 mins after me, so I mentioned his statement and how I would be watching it as I am an activist and protestor.


Then, I was excited because I was asked to come back on Saturday 2nd March to talk about Sunak's statement the day before. I talked about how our right to protest is being curbed and that exercising our democratic rights should not be prohibited because of malicious statements made.


I was really grateful for the opportunity because it was a chance to represent young people. I have made public my negative experiences of youth treatment and part of that has been feeling like I can't continue to be an activist because organisations may not believe in my ability.


This radio work proves: I still am able to represent young people, and the bad experiences I had don't define me.


If you would like to hear the radio interview, please head to Tik Tok as it will not upload onto Instagram!





Comments


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page