top of page

The Beauty of Face

I was stuck on what to talk about, and realised there is actually SO much happening not just in my life, but in the world. Like the return to face to face…


So I have started my face to face sessions. YES! My first Youth Council meeting was last week and I have also been to a few YouthFocus meetings in person. Who would think about missing the commute?


I know many people are apprehensive about unlocking. Personally, I've been home for 18 months and have been itching to go out for something. Even getting bread is a 'day out'. So when I am asked to attend a meeting in person, I'm practically jumping up and down. I spend time thinking about what to wear and planning my route. But then I also get nervous about it. It feels like such a task with so many things to think about, and I almost always consider cancelling or making an excuse. It is confusing because I want to go out but it's like my head thinks it's ultimately too much hassle.


I'm well aware this is the lockdown effect on my social skills. I would say I am a social person, so lockdown was especially tough, especially when everyone in my household returned to work/education whilst I studied at home. So far, I have managed to attend stuff, and it makes me happier as a result because it is like normality, life before COVID.

Going out is a blessing. I am so happy for the opportunity to after the 18 months we’ve had. I’m double jabbed so I feel safer about travel and seeing people.


I chose the title because I didn’t realise how much I missed seeing faces. Not just of those I’ve missed, but of strangers, everyday people going about their business in Manchester.

This coming Monday, I’ve got a Youth Council trip planned, so it’s something to look forward to, seeing people in real life again and making memories whilst changing things in our community.


The beauty of face was under appreciated before. But I don’t think I’ll ever take it for granted again. That’s one thing that I have taken from this pandemic.



Comments


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page