top of page

Bonfire Roots

You know, it only occurred to me last night, when observing the firework displays from my window, how hilarious the idea of Bonfire Night is and perhaps why it is so much more important now than in the last twenty years.


Bonfire Night became a thing because Guy Fawkes had a plot to blow up the Houses of Parliament. This was because he was Catholic and it was in retaliation of Protestant King James I. Fawkes was caught and as a result, people lit bonfires all over London to celebrate his capture and the safety of the King.


Nowadays, people use the night as an excuse to gather, have fun, and set off fireworks. But as I was watching the displays in my neighborhood, I remembered the roots behind why the event even gained popularity.


Guy Fawkes was someone with distaste for the system and admittedly, became a terrorist in trying to destroy the current form. In his day, he could not have fought the process by electing in a new ruler as the monarchy was in charge. But it made me think about how our current government is making so many bad decisions that anger people, and the options we have in voicing our anger.


One of the most effective ways to do this is protest but the government is stripping this right by limiting freedom of speech. Protestors can now be arrested because they LOOK like they will cause trouble. As a Muslim girl of colour, it is no surprise why I suddenly feel silenced and unable to voice my opinions as strongly as before.


I always grew up learning that Guy Fawkes was 'evil'; anyone blowing things up is clearly crazy. As I get older and see how politics is curbing our options, I suddenly see how people like Fawkes can feel cornered into making catastrophic decisions.


When the number of peaceful options becomes numbered, that is when more issues will start to surface in society. The government should ensure that there are sufficient forums for young people to share their political frustrations because if there are no conducive solutions, it increases the number that may turn to violent options, through misguided conceptions or feelings of despair at the state of the country.


I don't think this is discussed enough - young people are consistently being left behind, and that's what I remembered on Bonfire Night.


Things need to change in order for my generation to have a future that actually includes our voice.



*Header photo shows fireworks display from 2018 
All rights reserved to the author of the blog

Comments


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page