top of page

BYC meeting: info

I had a scheduled meeting with BYC so this is what actually happened. If you're new, read the two previous blogs on BYC ('BYC behaviour', and 'I am not ok').


After some back and forth with BYC, I decided to meet them. I was given the opportunity to walk away, no hard feelings, and for the first time in my life, I really considered it. I am someone who wants answers but the way BYC and MYC have behaved and the effect on my stress and performance has been immense. I want it all over and hate that this issue is being prolonged with no sign of resolution. With this in mind and the fact that so many young people had similar experiences, I decided to meet BYC because I wanted an explanation as well as to share my experience.


We agreed to meet today (Tuesday 6th February) at 11am. I was so nervous and stressed and worried about how it would go and what they would say. I spent time preparing my notes and expanding on issues I had outlined in my emails. I wrote multiple questions I had that were still unanswered. I hyped myself up to be brave and represent myself as well as others who had been mistreated by youth organisations. And they did not even show up.


That's right. I waited 10 minutes before sending an email but stayed in the meeting for 30 minutes. I received no emails or responses over a delay or rescheduling. I sat there, bewildered at how I had just been treated yet again.


Maybe I shouldn't be surprised at this point. This is how they have been so why would now be different? I was upset again - it took SO much courage to mentally prepare and face BYC. They are an organisation and I am one person ; it's tough to sit there and be ready to speak. This whole situation has been highly stressful and emotional, and the idea of meeting was daunting.


Despite all my reservations, I attended. And I was ghosted. It's ironic because BYC said that the reason for relievement was lack of contact. This threw me because I am very easily contactable, on social media pages, by email, by telephone, by letter. I emailed the CEO of BYC, expressing my disappointment and annoyance at this continued lack of support.


I got a response while writing this blog: the member of staff is off sick and I will be contacted when they return to reschedule. Once again, BYC demonstrates a lack of consideration and manners - I waited on that call for 30 minutes, a call I was really anxious about and had doubts around attending. My time was wasted and I felt disposable, which is pretty much how BYC and MYC have treated me.


I feel angry and upset that when I have agreed to talks, BYC again shows no willingness to listen to what I am saying or how their actions are affecting me. I have had to be brave for so long and do not know how much longer I am supposed to pretend.


Between MYC's silence and BYC's ignorance, I have never felt so excluded from the youth sphere.



Comments


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page