top of page

IWD 2024

I was honoured to be invited by Loreto High School for International Women’s Day (IWD) today!


As part of the day, I spoke to students in Years 7 and 8 about my activism journey, social movements, and what they can do in political spaces.


I was amongst other amazing influential women in STEM, education, and sport who shared their stories and experiences.


IWD is so important for a number of reasons: critically, to remember how far women have come and how much more work there is to be done.


IWD gives me the chance to reflect on my life, the amazing women I know, and their struggle and impacts. I routinely face sexist behaviour that is normalised for me but in 2024, we shouldn’t have to put up with it.


Gender should never define ability. Women are just as capable if not more than men, and with non-binary individuals gaining more awareness, gender is not and should never have been used to assess worth or ability in an activity.


Thank you to Loreto High School for inviting me, as well as to my fellow speakers. And thank you to the inspirational women - in my life on a daily basis, uplifting me, as well as the women working hard in politics and finance and journalism to show us it can be done, even if it hasn’t been done before.








Comments


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page