top of page

Local Elections 2021

It's officially Super Thursday - are you ready?


Today marks the biggest election held in over 50 years that isn't a General Election. Elections are being held in England, Scotland and Wales. In 13 places including Manchester, we will be electing a Metro Mayor.


So what's the big deal? Asides from voting being a fundamental part of democracy, these elections will be indicative of public mood. In the aftermath of leaving the EU and COVID, it will show us how people are responding to these events and what the public's priorities are going forward.


Today will be my first ever election, which I have been waiting years for. I am so excited to go and vote, because I know as a girl, many died to ensure I have this right today. Not only will my vote honour them, but it will allow me to participate in democracy and have a say in who should be representing me in my local area. Especially being a university student, the pandemic has been tough on students, and it will be interesting to see how this is reflected by 18-24 year olds in the polls.


I urge you all to go out and vote too! The polls are open 7am-10pm as usual, but remember to bring a pen/pencil and a face mask due to COVID. You do not have to bring your poll card with you. Even if you do not know who to vote for: choose an issue you care about, or that you are annoyed about, and see which candidate will do something about it. There can be a few, but it is about picking the candidate who most aligns with your own values and will champion your issues.


If you can't vote, push your friends and family to. Our representation is only fair if all of the electorate goes out to vote!


And speaking of young voters, today in Wales, 16 year olds will be voting for the first time. That means that franchise has been extended to 16-17 year olds in Scotland and Wales. When will England realise it is inevitable?


Enough from me. Go out and vote, because as always, our future depends on it!




留言


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page