top of page

The MYC Response

They got in contact - here's the MYC response.


IF you've been reading Little I blogs lately, you'll know that in early January, I broke my silence over how MYC and BYC had mistreated me and failed to communicate at all. BYC's situation is ongoing but MYC's was a year ago and no progress was made. Until now.


I have posted blogs, written on social media, and spoke to countless activists to share my experience. What was I hoping to get out of this all? I wanted everyone to know what they had done to me, so they knew what kind of organisation I was with, as well as speaking out for other young people who don't have the confidence or the privilege or the opportunity to do so. In the back of my mind, as I shared more blogs and information, I expected some contact, maybe an email or message to apologise for what had happened. The bare minimum that I deserve after 6-7 years of service.


I had radio silence from the workers and the Council, despite several youth council members lending me their support and inquiring about what had happened. The most I got was a brief text from a worker apologising for the mistreatment as they claimed not to know what had happened.


Until this week.


I came to my parents telling me that they had had a missed call from none other than a worker from the Council. This individual was very close to me and someone I had previously held in high regard. My parents eagerly asked me if I had had any calls or communication. I had none.


I spoke about youth autonomy in my last blog published yesterday because this call is evidence of mine being directly undermined. The sheer audacity of MYC to make their first official response a phone call to my parents is unbelievable and downright disrespectful.


MYC does not respect me as an individual. When it suited them, I was an adult and could oversee youth activities. Alternatively, I was a young person and then would be treated as such - like this phone call.


This situation is between me and MYC, nobody else. I am over 18 so why are my parents getting a response to the work I have done? It is a pathetic attempt to silence me using the perception of Asian culture as well as my parents to prevent this from becoming public.


I am not a rogue agent - everything I have said and done has been planned in order to put across the youth mistreatment. I am a young person who has been treated abhorrently and this behaviour reinforces everything I have been saying about mistreatment in youth organisations. I feel disrespected, undermined, angry, and not even surprised anymore at these thoughtless decisions. Where is the respect for my autonomy?


The funny thing is that I have shown so much consideration and respect for MYC and received none back. I could have named people, workers, the senior officials I contacted who did nothing. Talked about the incidents I witnessed whilst there that were not above board. The reason I didn't is because I have integrity and believe in dealing with the particulars of this matter privately. Clearly, MYC does not feel the same. They treat me as an adult or child when it suits them, but either way, they still failed and are continuing to fail their duty of care.


Ironically this all happened during the Year of the Child in 2022 and now with Mental Health Week. I don't see how MYC can even campaign on this after knowingly exiling members for no apparent reason. Does this not impact my mental health? Or is mental health only relevant for the current members? That is a shame for the millions of other young people in Manchester who MYC purports to represent.


MYC - I know you're reading this. My contacts are all the same. I am public on every platform. Come and talk to the person who is actually making this case, instead of trying to choose the easy way out of the mess you created.



Silver balloons spelling out MYC and BUZZ
MYC decorations



Comments


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page