top of page

Help! Who Do I Vote For?

It's the day before the elections - nervous? That's putting it lightly.


As a young person, people have been sharing their views with me. Those that are politically active are switching allegiances, and those uninterested remain so due to the behaviour of the parties. I can't say I blame them; I barely recognise these parties anymore. So we need to know what they are about.


This is a template I have created using information from the NUS student checker. Use it to identify your key issues and what party seems to align most with your perspectives.



But at the same time, remember what these parties have done. Remember how the Conservatives partied over lockdown whilst people died from COVID. Remember how Labour failed to stand up for Gaza. Remember how the Lib Dems promised to scrap tuition fees but failed to do so. Remember the Green Party's indecision over gender ideology. Remember how Reform had candidates step down for racist remarks.


There are reasons for me not to vote for any party. But in order to make such a decision, you have to look at the policies on offer and what you agree with. This along with how you perceive the parties over the last 6 weeks will allow you to make a decision that is representative of your opinion.


It isn't by any means easy - I keep changing my mind over who to vote for. And maybe I won't know until I get to the ballot. But making sure I have all the information on hand will ensure the decision is well-informed.


Talk to your friends, talk to your family, anyone around you - encourage them to vote, engage in the conversations. Our future is at stake and we must ensure we have all the available knowledge to make the best choice we can. You can also follow my instagram: @ishaa_asim for more voting policy information.


Good luck.


*NUS information was used in the resource, it can be found here: https://www.nus.org.uk/ge24-party-manifestos all rights reserved 
*NUS Vote Matcher tool will also assist in making a decision by choosing policies and giving a party best suited: https://www.nus.org.uk/vote-matcher 

Comments


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page