top of page

Who Cares about Elections?

I have been thinking this during the UK General Election campaign of 2024. Between racism and betting scandals - why bother with any party?


My friends and family have asked me about who I will vote for in the elections. The issue is that the more I see and hear of all candidates, there is not one that I am excited to give my vote to.


Reform UK has candidates making racist comments. The Conservative Party wants national service. The Labour Party isn't sure what it stands for. The Green Party does not have electoral conviction. The Liberal Democrats still haven't offered any kind of concession for their lies over tuition fees.


Transgender rights and identity is a hot issue for the parties, as well as inflation and the NHS. Given the state of these parties, I can see why people don't want to vote at all. As someone interested in politics, not voting seems to be a better option.


The thing is, not voting means you fail to have your say. I've stated this numerous times but in December 2019 Boris Johnson's Conservatives received 10 million votes. The number of non-voters was 12 million, meaning they could have formed their own party and changed the last 5 years entirely. We have to show up and make a stand, whether it is spoiling a ballot or voting tactically.


People will often vote for a party to avoid another coming in. There is not a single party I like at the minute but I know just how important it is to turn up. People died for the right to vote, to have a say in national affairs. So when it comes to that decision on Thursday 4th July, I will be choosing to vote in order to make my stand.


We have to care because our future is quite literally at stake. I understand how hard this decision is - it is my first general election and I could never have imagined having this dilemma as someone with strong political views.


If you are someone who is on the fence over voting, please do. You won't get the chance for another 5 years and a lot can happen in that time. 5 years ago, COVID hadn't happened and UK inflation was much more controlled.


Elections are crucial - in the UK we just take it for granted. There are people living in countries run by dictatorships or corruption that could only dream of this democratic right. So it's on us to use what we have to change the course of our political history.




Comentarios


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page