top of page

I Met MYC: Details

On Tuesday 12th March, I met MYC. Here's what happened.



Now for more best bits from our MYC
Blog 5 on MYC - so many best bits

The Agreement to Meet

Firstly, in scheduling the meeting, MYC got in touch after my blogs (one month after, it is worth noting), offering the chance to meet to 'catch up' as it would be 'helpful'. Naturally, I was surprised it took this long but replied, stating my preference to meet in person rather than online. I was soon informed that I would meet the person who had been dealing with some of the matters previously, who was not connected to MYC's day-to-day operations. In addition to this, a youth worker who is involved with MYC would be joining to add to the discussions. Immediately I felt unsafe at the prospect of having to face two people in senior positions supposedly counter my experience. I emailed back to inform MYC that I would bring an observer in with me to support me through the meeting.


The Meeting

In preparation of the meeting, I had notes as well as a timeline of events that had occurred. When we began, MYC told me that this was my meeting and I could talk about my experience. I began with the timeline of events that I shared in the first blog as well as the personal impact suffered as a result of the mistreatment.


They listened and nodded whilst I spoke. MYC then discussed why some of the events happened - for example, I was told that the volunteer pack that I could not attend MYC without would be made in January 2023. But I never received any communication after that. The worker in charge of this left in January and therefore MYC said this was why, even though it was wrong that I had not been contacted. To this day, the volunteer pack does NOT exist, in March 2024, even though I had been informed of its intentions in October 2022.


The Head of Services at MYC had also left since, so his non-reply was covered by this too. Therefore, staff changes had dramatically changed MYC's staff makeup and my case had happened as an accident of sorts, I had fallen by the wayside. This is completely untrue - I told MYC that since going public, many young people had informed me of their own mistreatment experiences, including MYC. I am not special or unique, this is not only a systemic issue but an MYC issue and MYC failed to adequately address this for MANY years. MYC stated they were glad I went public as not all workers knew of the issues I'd faced and therefore I was able to get this meeting.


One of the workers did apologise numerous times - acknowledging what had happened to me and how it should not have happened. Technically, I should not have been allowed to continue at MYC after reaching 18 but I was there until I was almost 21; this was a huge safeguarding issue that MYC overlooked and meant the young people and myself were not adequately protected.


I stressed how it felt to be excluded and receive no response, even when the response I received was directed at my parents. MYC defended this by stating that this was by staff who no longer worked at MYC but in different departments. This was a poor attempt at excusing their behaviour and handling of my situation. This worker was someone I trusted who travelled to Finland with me and didn't have the courtesy to contact me directly. And MYC failed to acknowledge this and take accountability. These workers that I contacted were like parental figures; MYC argued that their change in role meant they were busy or had other responsibilities. This was NOT an excuse to drop their duty of care and MYC failed to understand this, as well as the complaints about a worker who then ended up removed from MYC.


My observer briefly contributed by stating to MYC the impact of their actions on me as well as how I was a valuable asset they had developed, and now, effectively lost, as a consequence of their own behaviour. MYC agreed and said they wished for me to continue with the Council in some capacity as my history and experience would be very beneficial.


I was asked what I wanted to happen next, as MYC's focus was moving on. I told them that I wanted:


  • Volunteer Pack Policy created, to ensure this would not happen again to other young people, since no volunteer pack meant it was easy to recreate the same scenario year after year.

  • A Public Apology as I had taken a great risk to publicise this mistreatment. They admitted to me that they were at fault, and having this statement would be proof for myself as well as other organisations that I had been valid in my claims.

  • MYC Phasing-Out Policy: for young people 17-18 who will be left in my position as no process currently exists

I also wanted to be updated about the volunteer pack policy and how it would not just concern MYC but Manchester City Council as a whole. I was told that this was not just MYC but the Council having its own policy. With the phasing-out policy, there are young people at MYC who will be left in my position because nothing has changed and the fact that they are well aware of this makes it abhorrent.


Actions

As a result of what I asked, MYC said they would put out a statement regarding my situation and take responsibility. They stated that they were working on a Council-wide initiative on a volunteer policy and were speaking to stakeholder groups. MYC said they would keep me updated on this. As for the next set of young people being phased out, MYC would sit down with them in the next few weeks to discuss their next steps and plan things rather than create another situation.


MYC said that there are volunteering opportunities and activities being planned and they offered me the chance to be involved. However, they couldn't even tell me when because this was not fully decided. They did not commit to a timeframe because I had been told dates before which never happened. This felt very déjà vu and yet again I can't get assured information on what is happening when.


MYC said they would sit down with their members turning 18 soon to discuss their role going forward so there is a plan in place unlike with my situation.


Now?

From this interaction, MYC wanted a resolution, a way to end this. For them it is case closed, my experience is the past and nothing can be done about it. They would much prefer to use it as a case study of what not to do for next time. Whilst they did apologise, it didn't mean anything because it didn't change anything. And whilst they took accountability for SOME things, they wouldn't for others. For example, the public apology will not name me and instead state it is a group of people unhappy, demonstrating their cowardly response that aims to keep their own reputation intact with no regard to my own.


I will be receiving regular updates on the volunteer pack's creation and content, to ensure volunteers are adequately protected, as well as regular communication from MYC in general as that was a key issue before. MYC will also be speaking to the young people - I will be chasing this up to ensure it is being followed through.


I feel a mix of emotions and I'll share more on that soon. One thing that didn't help is one of the workers from a Muslim background constantly using Islamic greetings and language out of the blue - they never interacted with me like this all the time whilst I was at MYC, and now suddenly in this meeting and in subsequent communications, it is everywhere. I did this meeting on the first day of Ramadan; I know full well this is another MYC attempt to relate to me and show we are all on one side and can get through this. Personally, I find it disgusting to use my religion as an attempt to sweeten me into this issue when it has nothing to do with the principal matters.


So, there you have it, that's the MYC update. I will post more as soon as I have more information. It has been very tough to deal with, hence the delay. I appreciate you all for reading this rather long but absolutely necessary blog.


Ishaa







コメント


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page