top of page

The Perception Complex

Something happened today.


I was getting ready in my room as on any ordinary day, and I received a message from my mum. I checked my phone to see what it was (she was downstairs) and it was a text telling me to come down as the fashion segment was on the Lorraine show. I didn't make it in time as I tend to rush in the mornings, but it made me think about many things.


We often put ourselves in boxes, or categories, to define ourselves, perhaps to make us feel better or connected to a community. I describe myself as an activist who campaigns on social issues but depending on the space you find yourself in, you use different words to explain who you are or what you are about.


My image and what I put out are mainly activist-related as well as environmental, which is natural because of the work I have done on the topic. But I forget that we have so many other sides and interests too, like fashion for me. I absolutely love clothes and styling as well as watching the Fashion Week trends. In fact, one of my favourite parts of the awards events is seeing who wore what and taking inspiration for my own outfits.


We can define ourselves using whatever we want, but others also develop a perception of what we're about. This is less within our control, but equally as intriguing to see the difference between what we put out and what people perceive about us. I was at a social event this week and a statement was made regarding who had the most energy, and without a doubt, I was chosen despite being one of the newest members. This demonstrates the perception already developed of my personality based on limited interactions.


Some people know me as an activist, or a course fellow, or a sports player, or a music lover. There are so more dimensions to people than we initially perceive.


I had this issue when I was crafting my bio for Twitter and Instagram. I never know what to put in terms of my experience and what I actually am. I always wanted to put 'speaker' but didn't know if I had to reach a certain level but at some point, I just added it. I speak at events, that is a fact, so why hesitate in putting it online? Every day we decide to use words to put us in a place, sometimes without realising that these places can be fluid.


I get to decide what I am, what I want people to see of my work and activities online and in the real world. That doesn't mean that I can't wake up tomorrow and begin posting fashion content, or sports content. Yes, it may not receive as much attention as your followers tend to be interested in the core of your account's work, but the account is your own. As long as the content is not harmful, there's no reason why we can't show our different sides when we want to.


I am not just an activist, but many other things. And whilst organisations may not recognise the worth that brings with it, I know what I am capable of, and that's what really matters.




Yorumlar


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page