top of page

The "Right Time" Dilemma

As seen on my latest reel, I stated the following: there is never the "right time" to start something.


What is the right time? It's a commonly used phrase, you're looking for the "right time" to start a new project, or take on a hobby, or do something entirely different. I'd argue that there is no such thing; it's a construct we created to pigeonhole achievements into categories.


I'll give you an example. This blog was something I wanted to create for a while, but I put it off, arguing that I didn't have the profile for it; or the confidence; or it wasn't the "right time" in my activism. I ended up pushing away my self-doubt and starting the blog during COVID because I felt so passionately about the US 2020 Election. If I had continued to believe that I couldn't do it, I wouldn't be able to write today and share my opinions and work with many of Little I's readers.


There never is the right time to do something because we will always make excuses for why we can't do something. Instead, it would be better to focus our efforts on taking that risk. You don't know how it'll work out, but another popular phrase is that you miss 100% of the shots you don't take. If there is a chance you could do something incredible, or different, what is really stopping you from enacting it into reality?


I believe this phrase of "right time" came about to disincentivise people into taking new opportunities and breaking the mould. We shouldn't let this phrase or way of thinking stop us from making beneficial life choices.


There will always be people lining up to tell you that you aren't capable, so ignore them, ignore the norm of waiting for the "right time" and take the plunge. You never know what might happen.



*Header photo shows author taking advantage of an opportunity to visit the Iranian Embassy in Manchester



Comments


Hi there!

Thanks for stopping by - let me know what you think of the blog by commenting on it. Or alternatively, enter your email below to subscribe to any new blogs. Happy reading!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page